Paper jewelry by Luis Acosta

From all the materials that have been used in the jewelry field by artists, paper never ceases to amaze me. Let`s meet Mr Acosta, an international artist and take a peek into his work 🙂

Luis Acosta

Tell us, who is Luis Acosta the designer? How did the jewelry business start for you?

I’m from Cordoba, Argentina and now living in The Netherlands.  I am originally educaded trained as a weaver at the Gerrit Rietveld Academy in Amsterdam.  I began making paper jewellery in 1996.

It is the simplicity of form, and repetition that works so well.  From simple forms I see daily everywhere, I develop a technique, draw a shape and repeat, cut and sew.

I never intended to make jewelry, forms brought me to them.

Where do you find inspiration for your collections?

I do no seek for inspiration. The forms are everywhere. You have to see them and discover how to develop them to a design.

What do you like most about paper?

For me paper is like the palette for the painter.

Having paper in my hands is like having any other material from textile origin.

Every city I visit for the first time, the first thing I do is visit a paperwork store to see if there is paper that I can use.

I buy just one or two sheets of each class. I always use 6 layers of paper. The numbers 1, 3, 4 and 6 are usually handmade papers that come from Thailand, India, Japan, etc.. The numbers 2 and 5 are double-sided wrapping paper from Switzerland. These are the papers giving the desired rigidity to the pieces.

Can you tell us in a few words your technique? How do you manage to sew the paper?

To make a necklace of paper I should draw first each module that will integrate a necklace. Once the drawing is completed I add to that sheet of paper, six others. I sew (none of the papers are glued), then cut and stitch each module, one followed by the other, to form the necklace.

Instead, for a paper thread necklace, I draw a shape that will serve as a model for each link. Each of them is formed with the principle of the Möbius strip, which I will incorporate one Quipu (knot).
That drawing I copy while I sew the paper thread. Then I proceed by engaging one by one to form the final necklace.

luis acosta paper thread necklace

This is a question I ask everyone : do you have a favorite item in your own portfolio?

Everything I do I do with great responsibility and I am really satisfied with each piece so I can not say which is my favorite one. Each of them has its own charm.

brosa hartie  Luis Acosta

What about a favourite artist or a favorite technique you would like to apply in your field?

I would like to work with metal.

I always see each of my pieces as small sculptures.

While I can see them made in metal, but I will not learn and use that special technique.

What is your greatest professional achievement so far?

International recognition.

Where can we find your work?

Several galleries have works in stock like Spain, Switzerland and here in The Netherlands.

I have works in many museums and galleries. Two pieces are in the Museum of Arts and Design (New York, USA) It is quite important to be represented in this museum and at this international level. It was a surprise for me to get there. I worked with a gallery in New York, one of its clients was interested in my jewelry and commissioned and donated the pieces that are now in the permanent collection of MAD.

It is the wish of any artist, to be represented in museums of international relevance.
It might or might not lead to new contacts.

Thank you for the interview!

 

 

Lasă un răspuns

